Oh very Young

Who knew these young ones could be so delightful?

And who knew leaf propagation actually worked? Lots of people I imagine, but it’s still a surprise to me.  In January, various leaves lay around on kitchen paper for a while and then grew roots. I put them on dirt, and they grew little plants, the biggest of which I have put in a ‘proper’ bowl and brought into the main part of the house.  A big move.

They’re next to another bowl I recently filled with other young ones from Vicki. They seem to like it in the red room, where they’ll stay before moving out to the garden. I transferred one of my favourite bowls from here outside yesterday as everything in it had grown so much while we were away.

Some of my very first young plants, which have stayed in the same pot in the same spot in the garden for months, are now beautifully grown, and one in particular (the red one of unknown name) is set to produce a flower.  And the chalk fingers which have also been there forever are now sprouting cute little pups at the centre.

My friend Sharon recently gave me a baby yucca, from a stand of yuccas at her place in Kurrajong. Almost thirty years ago, one of these yuccas provided flowers that floated in bowls at our wedding reception at Sharon and Glen’s home. How special.

We’ve all grown up since then, and I can’t wait to see what other surprises all these ‘babies’ have for me.  

(And who knew I’d ever start calling plants ‘babies’?! 😜🤔)

Leave a comment